Three Years in Moscow

Standard

I arrived in Moscow three years ago today. In addition to year one’s list and year two’s list, I am grateful for…

  • My Prescription
    Last summer and fall, I spent three or four months in a haze of fatigue. Several weeks in, I went to the doctor, and after a couple of visits and a couple of rounds of blood work, we had a diagnosis of hypothyroidism and a prescription that gradually brought me back to life. I am grateful for modern medicine that allows me to be a functional human being.
  • My Paracletes
    Amid the physical and emotional symptoms of my illness, a number of people came alongside me. One Saturday I was kidnapped, and my keys were stolen, and a gang broke into my house…and cleaned it. That’s a gift I won’t soon forget. Folks brought meals for a while till I was feeling more on top of things. There were flowers, and there were encouraging notes, and there were (and still are) many prayers. When I was back on my feet, but it was clear that things still weren’t right with my heart, two ladies in particular, Nancy and Eileen (my pastors’ wives), continued to be relentless with encouragement and counsel and lunch dates and checking in and the right kind of pushiness. I am grateful for this avalanche of love that has pounded down on me for the past eight or nine months
  • My Perch
    Another specific megablessing has been my new office. Nancy saw the need to get me out of my isolation at home and installed me in a snug little spot in the church office building. Not only has it been great to get out of the house and interact with other human beings every day, it’s been a great perch from which to observe the life of the congregation. I especially appreciate seeing how our deacons serve our community. Once a week, a couple of them give up their lunch breaks to meet with folks who have practical needs. They don’t just throw money at situations; they get to know people and work on solving the problems underneath the problems. I am grateful to be be near the hub of our church life and to see others being blessed there, too.
  • My Progress
    My pastor often reminds up to judge things by the video, not by the snapshot. In the case of my sanctification, the video is so slo-mo that it takes some concentration and a little imagination to see any action, but I think I can juuuust make out a little creeping progress. I am grateful that “He who calls you is faithful, who also will do it.”

And now the suspense begins: Will I be able to keep up this ever-more-strained P-alliteration in next year’s anniversary post? Tune in to find out!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Four Years in Moscow | Kyriosity

Leave a Reply

